- DTN Headline News
USDA Extends Crops-Reporting Deadline
Thursday, July 11, 2019 12:53PM CDT
By DTN Staff

OMAHA (DTN) -- Farmers in 12 flood-ravaged states will have an extra week -- until July 22 -- to report spring-seeded crops to USDA's Farm Service Agency, according to a news release from USDA.

The new deadline applies to producers in Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Missouri, Minnesota, North Dakota, Ohio, Tennessee and Wisconsin for reporting to FSA county offices and crop insurance agents.

Farmers not in the selected states are required to file reports or be added to a county register by the original July 15 deadline.

USDA said in the news release that filing timely crop-acreage reports is important for maintaining eligibility for USDA conservation, disaster assistance, safety net, crop insurance and farm loan programs. A crop-acreage report documents all crops and their intended uses.

Producers filing reports with FSA county offices are encouraged to set up an appointment before visiting the office, USDA said.

Acreage reports from producers in the affected states who set up appointments before the July 22 deadline are considered timely filed, according to the news release, even if the appointment occurs after the deadline. Likewise, reports from producers in non-affected states who set up appointments before July 15 will be considered timely filed.

"These are challenging times for farmers, and we are here to help," said Bill Northey, USDA Undersecretary for farm production and conservation. "While producers in many parts of the country are experiencing a challenging spring and early summer, these states are seeing an especially large number of producers delayed in planting and unable to complete their other fieldwork."

Find more information here: https://www.farmers.gov/…

(TN/AG/CZ)


blog iconDTN Blogs & Forums
DTN Market Matters Blog
Editorial Staff
Monday, July 15, 2019 11:49AM CDT
Friday, July 12, 2019 12:27PM CDT
Monday, July 8, 2019 9:17AM CDT
Technically Speaking
Editorial Staff
Monday, July 15, 2019 11:07AM CDT
Monday, July 8, 2019 8:53AM CDT
Monday, July 1, 2019 8:49AM CDT
Fundamentally Speaking
Joel Karlin
DTN Contributing Analyst
Monday, July 15, 2019 12:49PM CDT
Friday, July 12, 2019 7:54AM CDT
Thursday, June 27, 2019 10:23AM CDT
DTN Ag Policy Blog
Chris Clayton
DTN Ag Policy Editor
Friday, July 12, 2019 3:55PM CDT
Thursday, July 11, 2019 4:43PM CDT
Monday, July 8, 2019 12:07PM CDT
Minding Ag's Business
Katie Behlinger
Farm Business Editor
Wednesday, July 3, 2019 2:19PM CDT
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 11:34AM CDT
Tuesday, May 28, 2019 3:02PM CDT
DTN Ag Weather Forum
Bryce Anderson
DTN Ag Meteorologist and DTN Analyst
Monday, July 15, 2019 12:11PM CDT
Friday, July 12, 2019 2:44PM CDT
Thursday, July 11, 2019 2:27PM CDT
DTN Production Blog
Pam Smith
Crops Technology Editor
Friday, July 5, 2019 2:08PM CDT
Thursday, June 13, 2019 4:47PM CDT
Thursday, June 6, 2019 5:22PM CDT
Harrington's Sort & Cull
John Harrington
DTN Livestock Analyst
Tuesday, July 9, 2019 2:22PM CDT
Monday, July 8, 2019 9:19AM CDT
Tuesday, June 11, 2019 3:25PM CDT
South America Calling
Editorial Staff
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 2:43PM CDT
Tuesday, April 9, 2019 2:22PM CDT
Wednesday, April 3, 2019 5:24PM CDT
An Urban’s Rural View
Urban Lehner
Editor Emeritus
Wednesday, July 10, 2019 5:34PM CDT
Monday, July 1, 2019 2:01PM CDT
Wednesday, June 19, 2019 6:36PM CDT
Machinery Chatter
Dan Miller
Progressive Farmer Senior Editor
Friday, July 12, 2019 12:03PM CDT
Tuesday, July 2, 2019 5:12PM CDT
Tuesday, June 25, 2019 11:24AM CDT
Canadian Markets
Cliff Jamieson
Canadian Grains Analyst
Monday, July 15, 2019 4:41PM CDT
Friday, July 12, 2019 4:37PM CDT
Thursday, July 11, 2019 4:25PM CDT
Editor’s Notebook
Greg D. Horstmeier
DTN Editor-in-Chief
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 5:59PM CDT
Thursday, April 25, 2019 8:51AM CDT
Thursday, April 11, 2019 8:29PM CDT
 
Copyright DTN. All rights reserved. Disclaimer.
Powered By DTN